Introduction to Quick Writes

In my sophomore year, I took an Honors English 10 class that was taught as a World Literature course. The following year, as a junior, I took an AP English Language and Composition course taught as an American Literature course. These past two years served to expand my critical analysis skills and nurtured my love for reading. 


Throughout each year, I was assigned outside reading requirements. Given three to four weeks, we students would read the novel on our own and meet up at most twice with our teacher to discuss the novel on a surface level. After the final meeting, we would be required to write timed write-ups for fifteen minutes every day of the next school week. Each piece is written in response to a prompt that can range from a free write to a question seven sentences long. All of my Quick Writes are the result of these timed writes.


During the AP English course, I would be assigned to read essays from The Bedford Reader on top of the other outside reading requirements. I have also written Quick Writes for those, too. 


Each Quick Write is scored out of twenty points by my teacher. I included scores at the end of each piece so that you can judge writing techniques and nuances if you are reading my pieces to build analysis skills. 


All of my Quick Writes are unedited, so what you see is the result of overflowing thoughts and ideas that I could translate onto paper within fifteen minutes. 


Hopefully, I have organized and labeled them in a way that is intuitive and easy to navigate. As of now, I do not have the prompts available, but I am currently working on fixing this issue. Yet, I still hope you as a reader can still get something from each of these responses. 


I highly recommend reading the novel or piece yourself before reading my responses. Quick Writes are written for an audience that I assumed have read the piece in question. Certainly, you can read them without prior knowledge of the book or essay, but the best experience comes with background information or first-hand reading. 


With this knowledge, please enjoy all of my Quick Writes. Feel free to comment with critique or questions of your own. 

List of Works I’ve Responded To

  • Nectar in a Sieve by Kamala Markandaya
  • The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini
  • A Long Way Gone: Memoirs of a Boy Soldier by Ishmael Beah
  • Persepolis: The Story of a Childhood by Marjane Satrapi
  • The Woman Warrior: Memoirs of a Girlhood Among Ghosts by Maxine Hong Kingston
  • The Jungle by Upton Sinclair

 

37 comments

Leave a Reply

